Blog, blogging, Caribbean, Cuba, Holidays, North America, Travelling, Trips

6 things to do before travelling to Cuba!

havana-1982410_1920.jpgSo I am heading to Cuba in a couple days and thought would be a good idea to share how the preparations are going. I will list some of the necessary steps to go through before embarking on a plane to Cuba.

1 – Visa

First thing to consider is the visa, so to get your visa you need to have your plane tickets bought, travel insurance, copy of the main page of your passport and it would help if you already have accommodation sorted. If you live in Ireland, you will also need a postal money order of either 22 euros or 47 euros, depending on how you will apply for your Visa Card.

You can go to the embassy yourself it costs 22 euros. However, they don’t accept card or cash, only take postal money orders, so it ends up being abou 24 euros with An Post fee. If will cost you a 47 euros money order if you post your application or if somebody else goes to the embassy for you. Another option is to buy your Visa card in a travel agency, which could cost you from 35 to 50 euros.

2 – Insurance and Vaccines

To get the Visa card you need to present travel insurance documents, but I am always extra safe and bring a copy with me, as well as that, you should visit your doctor to take any vaccines they recommend, which might include Cholera and Rabies.

Also if you have being travelling and have being in countries with risk of yellow fever transmission, you should have an international certificate of the vaccination. I have being to Brazil, for example, in the last year, so to be safe I am bringing my Yellow Fever vaccine international certification.

3 – Mobile Apps

It’s no secret that internet connection in Cuba us rare and scarce, so previously from flying to Cuba I am downloading a offline app in my phone, so I don’t need to be carrying a map around like a stereotypical tourist. Nothing agains maps, I will probably use them too.

4 – Cash

So I heard I will no be able to use my debit card of withdraw money from ATMs whenever I need it. So It is important to work out how much you will spend and bring it in cash. It is also important not to bring American ou Australian dollars. I am bringing Euros, which makes sense since I live in Ireland. But you could also bring Canadian Dollars or Pounds Sterling for example.

5 – Accommodation

The most common accommodation options in Cuba are Casas Particulares, they would compare to B&Bs here, but in the Caribbean resorts you can also find big and luxurious hotels with amazing pools and pool bars. I am going with a group of 6 so we decided to opt for our nice an old Airbnb and got an apartment in Havanna and one in the Varadero for the days we are spending there.

6 – Open your mind

Before travelling anywhere in the world it is very important to open our minds to different cultures, foods and people. Leave any judging thoughts and preconceptions at home and just go with a mindset for exploring and learning more about the place you’re heading to.

I can’t wait to embark in this adventure and to be back here and share all about it!

 

1 thought on “6 things to do before travelling to Cuba!”

Leave a comment